Log in

TABA Announces its 2017 Distinguished Aggie Lawyer Finalists!

Tue, February 07, 2017 5:27 PM | John Mitchell

The Texas Aggie Bar Associations is proud to announce its 2017 Distinguished Aggie Lawyer Award finalists:

Anthony G. Buzbee '90 - The Buzbee Law Firm

Hon. Joe C. Spurlock, II, ’60 - Professor of Law; Director of the AsianJudicial Institute, Texas A&M University School of Law

Bill Youngkin ‘69 - Youngkin & Doss, PLLC

Congratulations to all of our finalists!  The winner of the 2017 Distinguished Aggie Lawyer Award will be announced on Friday, February 17 and will be honored (along with the 2017 TABA Scholarship Recipients) at the Saturday night banquet as part of the 18th Annual Conference of the Texas Aggie Bar Association on March 4, 2017.   

To aid in the selection process, the selection committee welcomes any letters of recommendation, endorsements, or good-bull stories about any of our finalists.  

Please submit all materials electronically at with the subject line as "TABA DISTINGUISHED LAWYER 2017" by Tuesday, February 14, 2017.

Previous winners of the Distinguished Aggie Lawyer Award (FKA Aggie Lawyer of the Year) include Otway Denny (2000), Joseph Searcy Bracewell, Jr. (2001), Henry Gilchrist (2002), James "Jimmy" Bond (2003), W. Mike Baggett (2004), Arno Krebs (2005), The Honorable Willie E.B. Blackmon (2006), John White (2007), Louie Gohmert (2008), Fred McClure (2009), Bill Jones (2010), Bob Surovik (2011), Jim Creel (2012), Chuck Ellison (2013), Fidel Rodriguez '73 (2014) and Richard Kardys, '67 (2015) and Doug Barlow (2016).  Pre-2000 Aggie Lawyers of the Year include Greg Laughlin, Kent Caperton, Mike Swan, Abelardo L. "Lalo" Yaldez, Justice C.L. Ray, James DeAnda, Mayo Thompson, Judge Ed Coulson, Garland Walker, Angus McSwain, and John Lawrence.

For more details on the 18th Annual Conference, and to register online, please visit the TABA website at  Special thanks to our sponsors:


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software